My One Night of Maoist Armed Conflict in Nepal

By Prakash Rawat

The question always hits me, should I share my experience when thousands of rural people in Nepal were forcefully participated in Armed Conflict, including myself, conducted by Maoist during the high time in 2002.Or should I keep this story untold with me so that I always feel panic of memorizing? Now my limits of endurance overflowed. The day still I remember was on 21 February 2002, all the farmers in my village were busy in ginger harvesting. I was in the firm with my parents and other two local workers whom we have hired them for that day. It was about 3 o’clock in the day, a group of people about 3 came to us and we all recognized them because one of them was from our village involving in CPN (M) party and two were unknown faces. While they were approaching close towards our field we thought ‘may be they are coming to take ginger’ because it was customary to provide them donation of any cereals that has been cultivated in the village. But the reality was different; one of them ordered us, “each individual from every house to be gathered in school at 5 o’clock”. I tried to be clarified and asked ‘for what’? He responded,’ just be at 5 o’clock in the school and all things will be clear there’. Again I was not satisfied with his answer since I wanted to finish my ginger work by five o’clock with two hired workers and I seek more clarification with my explanation of urgency of work and asked a favor if we will not come at school? He furiously responded, ‘then we will not be responsible if something happens in the future’. I was not used to understand of their satirical language and activities because most of the time I was living in city for my study. His threatening language made my parent upset and later, they scolded me of being harsh to them since my life could be at risk. Then after, hurriedly my two hired workers ran to participate in the school and my father also was trying to get ready. Then, I thought why not to participate myself? I asked for permission to my parent but they did not want to me join. I questioned my parent, please let me go since its just 15 minutes walking distance to school and another thing I will have experience in these types of political activity. After many insist my father explained me that there is no certainty of their saying and time. They say in the beginning that the venue of their program is close and they even sometimes take in such a far distance which may take 4-5 days to return back home. I was also told that at least one member from a family is mandatory to participate in any condition, otherwise the threats of life or anything could come from Maoist side. Due to high time of insurgency, it was very hard to see young man like me in the villages, where they were in government security forces, or in Maoist people’s Liberation Army (PLA) if they were not in city for study or escaped to India. So, due to this fact only old people used to involve in the Maoist local activities and parents were very much afraid of young people like me to be in the village due to the fear that either joining with Maoist or suffered unnecessarily by government forces. But at that day, due to my continuous insist, my parent let me join the Maoist activity.

At sharp 5 O’clock most of the villagers were gathered in school ground and one of the local Maoist Leader announced to follow the villagers saying that their order upper chain of command came to go for another venue. More, the leader instructed that all the participants to chant slogans and keep on following wherever they lead us. As we walked about two hours, we were strongly warned that everybody has to stand in his/her place and not to proceed either back or forth but keep continuing chanting the slogans. It was already dark at 7 o’clock and all we from our Village recognized the place well because it was not so far and I noticed more than 5 thousand people assembled at that place. I read the different faces of the people which were full of despair and anger but nobody would utter even a single word because the life for everyone was important. I could noticed the place which was about 5 Kilometer far upper hill from the Nepal Army Barrack named Bagchaur, Tharmare and even I could see the blinking lights in the every upper hills like our distance from Barack of the Baghchaur, Tharmare. It was after few moments of reaching there, the leader of the mass instructed to chant slogans in big voice once he opens a fire. At that moment, most of the people realized their last moment of life thinking that they are going to attack Nepal Army Barrack located 5 Kilometer down and there is no way of defense because neither there were Maoist fighters nor arms, there were only the poor people like us. Few people tried to escape from the backside including me but there was no execuse because some young Maoist Militias were there to stop. Then, after opening the firing from the leader the chant of slogan continues for two hours without any break. Nepal Army on the other side was continuously firing as if they have millions of arms and ammunitions. The Nepal army never stopped firing during two hours and in different three hills ignorant people like us were chanting slogans. The environment seemed as if we were mocking the death from very close but the people felt sigh of relief when the leader allowed people to go back in respective places. He gave a big thankful speech of supporting “Great People’s War” and making their program successful.

Then, all people returned back to their destinations. For us, it was just two hours walking and we could tolerate our hungriness easily but I witnessed that very old man and women brought from far away without any pre information. It was pity enough to see their situation because they were in such helpless situation that neither they could protest nor they could prepare themselves for participation. After returning back to home, my poor parents were waiting for my arrival though they were not certain of me whether I could return same night. I explained to my parent of what happened during those hours.  I was questioning of why we were taken to tease the Nepal Army? I could not sleep at that night thinking what I have experienced. For me, it was like a dream which I never thought of. I prayed such days never come in my life, not because my life was in risk but because it was a not a pleasant moment to see those old men and women who were struggling without questioning and in return of not gaining anything. It was a pity for those old people who were chanting the slogans without their willingness.

In the next day, my neighbor uncle ran to me with his Radio and said me the radio broadcasted news, “In Sitalpati, Salyan 33 policemen were killed in Maoist attack last night”. Then I understood the reason why we were used to surround the Army Barack and engage them in their place so that they could not go for help to the Police post in Sitalpati. The sad news of killing 33 policemen made me upset and I acknowledged the gurilla war strategy of Maoist.

I have never thought of involving in such incident in my life. I realized that there was massive movement in the village during night time not only due to this incident but other political movements of Maoists were continuous. I felt quite opposite experience in the city life. The life in the city during night time was like a hell, no movements were allowed due to curfew. It was quite opposite in the city and village. When I analyze and critically examine the current situation of the country and behavior of Political parties, I hardly control of myself. I often question myself, what those poor rural people might have thinking about the current situation? Are they really happy with our Political parties Leaders, especially with Maoist?  Did they get anything in return when they were involving in Maoist movement willingly or unwillingly, not like me by chance but every moment in ten years? Are they getting any signs of fulfilling their wishes promised by leaders? I do not find positive answer on it. I just say because I am also tired of their activities, Thanks to our Political parties and leaders. You are great thinkers and ideal leaders for people! Keep it up for the peace and development of the country!

Contact: rawat_salyan@yahoo.com

1 thought on “My One Night of Maoist Armed Conflict in Nepal

  1. I like this article and would like to thanks the Author for sharing his own experience with us so that we will be able to analyze the real life situation of poor villagers during the conflict period. Except some grammatical error the article seems perfect for me.

    Thanks, keep in up.

    Santosh Khadka

Leave a comment